Certified Floodplain Managers

The Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) began in 1977 as the supporting organization of professionals involved in floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation, flood preparedness, and flood warning and recovery.

It is the mission of the Association to mitigate the losses, costs and human suffering caused by flooding and to promote wise use of the natural and beneficial functions of floodplains.

Today, the ASFPM is the premier voice in floodplain management practice and policy throughout the nation. Our 6,500 national and chapter members represent local, state and federal government agencies, citizen groups, private consulting firms, academia, the insurance industry, and lenders.  ASFPM’s influence is expressed through policy and practice changes that impact floodplain management in the U.S. and internationally.

Our goals are simple – help the public and private sectors:

  • Reduce the loss of human life and property damage resulting from flooding.
  • Preserve the natural and cultural values of floodplains.
  • Promote flood mitigation for the prevention of loss and the wise use of floodplains.
  • Avoid actions that exacerbate flooding.

The Association of State Floodplain Managers has established a national program for professional certification of floodplain managers. The program recognizes continuing education and professional development that enhance the knowledge and performance of local, state, federal, and private-sector floodplain managers. These individuals demonstrate their knowledge of the basic national standards and programs of floodplain management.

Hawaii is pleased to recognize our Certified Floodplain Managers:

Cerizo, Francisco
Chung, Christy
Colandrea, Jesse
Cortez, Carolyn
Cunningham, Christopher
DeMarco, Frank
Dempsey, Ty
Dunckel, Sean
English, Maile
Fujishige, Brandon
Glade, Brian
Gonser, Matthew
Gonzales, Ronald
Harada, Bryce
Hikiji, Jaime
Iwamoto, Stanford
Lillis, Ana
Lyon, Frank
Matsuda, Edwin
Milles, Dominic
Miyahara, Royce
Muranaka, Barry
Saldana, Gilbert “Gary”
Sanchez-Gomez, Diego
Santos, Christina
Setiono, Dean
Shigeoka, Dennis
Siu-Li, Mario
Smith, Michael
Stone, Jay
Takenouchi, Amber
Tanitomi, Emi
Torrate, Eric
Tummala, Vijayalashmi
Tyau-Beam, Carol
Vivas, Bryson

Updated 11/25/19

For more information about ASFPM, visit their website at: